USGA regrets causing distraction for Dustin Johnson during U.S. Open

The U.S. Golf Association on Monday said it regretted creating unnecessary ambiguity for eventual champion Dustin Johnson and the rest of the field in Sunday’s final round of the U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club.

Johnson, who won his first major championship by three shots, was penalized one stroke at the conclusion of his round when the USGA determined he caused his ball to move while standing over a 6-foot putt for par on the fifth hole. At the time of the infraction, Johnson was informed there would be no penalty and he made the putt for par.

On the 12th tee, however, a USGA official informed Johnson the matter was still under review. Slowly, the rest of the field was told of the situation.

This caused an uproar of criticism on social media, with Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy and Rickie Fowler, among others, highly critical of the USGA.

“Some great golf by @DJohnsonPGA all week, strong way to finish overcoming that rules farce,” Tiger Woods tweeted.

On Monday, the USGA released a statement.

“Upon reflection we regret the distraction caused by our decision…

Read Story

Translate »