USGA says Dustin Johnson could still be penalized after his round

Dustin Johnson took the lead in the final round of the U.S. Open, but it remains to be seen whether USGA officials  will assess a one-shot penalty for a situation on the fifth hole.

After missing a birdie putt, Johnson got ready to hit his shot, moving his putter back and forth a couple times.

The ball moved slightly and he called over a rules official. He was not penalized at the time and he made the putt. If he had moved the ball intentionally, he would have taken a penalty.

Then on No. 12, USGA officials spoke to Johnson about the incident, saying they would review it with him after his round.

Jeff Hall, the USGA’s managing director of rules and competition, said on the Fox telecast they wanted to give him plenty of time to consider it.

“He was very convinced that he didn’t cause the ball to move,” Hall said.

Read Story

Translate »